Add Some Bling To Your Nails

If you are like Me, getting nails on is a real treat. I love the look of longer nails, and I want that little touch of bling on top of them to boot. Well, I am one for pinching pennies, so I taught myself how to add the Nail Art. It is enough to spend money on myself getting the nails. But there is no way I am going to pay an additional $1.00 a nail to ge them decorated. Honestly with the right tools, it is not that hard to do.

First and foremost, you must relax. Do not be so hard on yourself that they must be exactly perfect on each nail. If they are a little off, no one will really notice except you.  As long as you get them pretty similar, it will be great.

For me, I get them filled and painted at the Nail Salon. I bring my own polish. That way, if I need to touch it up, I have the polish to do so.

Then I let my imagination be my guide.  I have several bottles of decorating nailpaints. I have about a dozen colors or so. These come with very thin brushes in order to be able to paint with detail.  Another REAL need in my book, is a quick drying top coat/clear polish. You generally have a good amount of polish built up on the nail. And have spent a good deal of time on it, so you want to “set” the polish. This gives it an added shine and if you have applied, Rhinestones, stickers or dried flowers, this will act as added glue and sealant. (I even have a bottle or so of regular polish that I wanted to use solely for decorating, that I cleaned the excess polish off of the bristles. Then took a pair of scissors and trimmed off much of the bristles leaving a small section about the size of a toothpick. : REMEMBER – You can always cut more off, but you can’t put it back on!. So cut small amounts off at a time until you get the hang of what you are doing.  I have purchased Nail art supplies in many different places, even Ebay. Beauty Suppliers and Nail Salons used to be my first choice. If you dont mind spending money go ahead. Some suppliers aren’t too bad. I even found the polish at Dollar General.  Yes, they were only $1 a bottle, and just as good as from the supply house. Getting glue on decorations are a different story. They can be pretty pricey. I found Born Pretty Store.com . They alway run some pretty awesome contests. Right now, they are giving away the cutest eyeliners. Yes, eyeliner can be cute!

These Eyeliners are too cute


Born Pretty Nail Art

So relax, be creative, have fun. The only time I get really really nervous is, if I am doing someone elses nails. And they are the ones who expect perfection.  But what is the worst that can happen? So you get out the nail polish remover, and start that nail over again.

Doesn't have to be perfect

My Purple Nails

Leave a Reply

